---
title: "Can I delete 8x8 Work Chat Rooms?"
slug: "can-i-delete-8x8-work-chat-rooms"
updated: 2026-04-20T13:22:31Z
published: 2026-05-21T21:28:57Z
canonical: "help.8x8.com/can-i-delete-8x8-work-chat-rooms"
stale: true
---

> ## Documentation Index
> Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://help.8x8.com/llms.txt
> Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further.

# Can I delete 8x8 Work Chat Rooms?

## Question

Is it possible to delete 8x8 Work Chat Rooms created in Work for Desktop or Work for Mobile?

## Applies To

- Work for Desktop
- Work for Mobile

## Answer

8x8 Work Chat Rooms cannot be deleted.

You can unfollow a chat room to stop receiving message notifications for that room. You will still receive notifications when you are mentioned.

If a chat room is private, you can remove yourself from the room. Once you're removed, the room will no longer appear in your room list and other users will not be able to trigger notifications by mentioning you. You cannot remove yourself if you are the only member of a room.
