---
title: "Delete a Sent Chat Message in 8x8 Work"
slug: "delete-a-sent-chat-message-in-8x8-work"
updated: 2026-04-20T13:23:46Z
published: 2026-05-21T21:28:57Z
canonical: "help.8x8.com/delete-a-sent-chat-message-in-8x8-work"
stale: true
---

> ## Documentation Index
> Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://help.8x8.com/llms.txt
> Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further.

# Delete a Sent Chat Message in 8x8 Work

## Objective

Delete a chat message that you sent in 8x8 Work.

## Applies To

- 8x8 Work for Desktop
- 8x8 Work for Mobile
- Messaging

## Limitations

The ability to delete chat messages applies only to those messages in chat conversations and rooms *you yourself* have sent. **You cannot delete**:

- Messages sent by other users and *received/viewed by you*
- Messages older than 12 hours
- SMS messages (sent or received)

## Procedure

1. Click **More Options** (three dots) next to the message.
2. Click **Delete**.
3. Click **Delete**. *"[This message was deleted]"* will appear in the chat.

## Additional Information

Alternatively, messages can be edited instead of deleted. Deleted messages cannot be recovered and redisplayed in the chat conversation or room. Deleted messages are removed from the end user-visible chat conversation, but are preserved in the chat conversation archives available to 8x8 service administrators.
