---
title: "Does resetting a user's password log them out of 8x8 applications?"
slug: "does-resetting-a-user-s-password-log-them-out-of-8x8-applications"
updated: 2026-04-21T13:10:38Z
published: 2026-05-21T21:25:23Z
canonical: "help.8x8.com/does-resetting-a-user-s-password-log-them-out-of-8x8-applications"
stale: true
---

> ## Documentation Index
> Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://help.8x8.com/llms.txt
> Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further.

# Does resetting a user's password log them out of 8x8 applications?

## Question

Does resetting a user's password log them out of 8x8 applications?

## Applies To

- 8x8 Work
- Admin Console

## Answer

Resetting an 8x8 password does **not** log the user out of applications. However, the user will need to enter their new password the next time they log in.

8x8 user accounts are intended to be used by one person. In the scenario where a user leaves, their 8x8 user account should be deactivated or deleted. When a new person joins a new user account should be created specifically for them. This allows for proper user management, ensuring that each person has their own credentials, settings, and permissions within the 8x8 system.

To log a user out of all 8x8 Applications and pyhsical endpoints such as deskphones, you could deactivate and re-activate the user from the users page in Admin Console. 8x8 Work will show *"Account Suspended - Your 8x8 Work account has been suspended. Contact the administrator of your account. This session will now be terminated."*
