---
title: "Hide or Unhide a Chat Conversation or Room in 8x8 Work for Desktop"
slug: "hide-or-unhide-a-chat-conversation-or-room-in-8x8-work-for-desktop"
updated: 2026-05-19T11:52:03Z
published: 2026-05-21T21:27:46Z
canonical: "help.8x8.com/hide-or-unhide-a-chat-conversation-or-room-in-8x8-work-for-desktop"
stale: true
---

> ## Documentation Index
> Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://help.8x8.com/llms.txt
> Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further.

# Hide or Unhide a Chat Conversation or Room in 8x8 Work for Desktop

## Objective

Hide or unhide a chat conversation or room from your personal message view in 8x8 Work for Desktop.

## Applies To

- 8x8 Work for Desktop
- Chat

## Procedure

### Hide a Conversation

1. Log in to **8x8 Work for Desktop**.
2. Select **Messages**.
3. To the right of the conversation or room you want to hide, select **More Options** (three dots). ![clipboard_e882132874c96f73be7776ead6cbd8f3d.png](https://cdn.us.document360.io/e3a59e39-abd3-4423-964c-0a4008dc5673/Images/Documentation/1921(1))
4. Select **Hide Conversation**.
5. You will have the option to hide multiple conversations or rooms if needed by selecting the check box next to each conversation or room.
6. Select the **Hide button** at the bottom. ![clipboard_e5a0dfa8da1a867c3261d8393cd9bca78.png](https://cdn.us.document360.io/e3a59e39-abd3-4423-964c-0a4008dc5673/Images/Documentation/1923(1))

The conversation is now hidden when selecting the chat section of 8x8 Work for Desktop.

### Unhide a Conversation

1. Select the **create message icon** at the bottom of the chat section. ![clipboard_e0f73e3ceb3addcef7947c836c8476b7c.png](https://cdn.us.document360.io/e3a59e39-abd3-4423-964c-0a4008dc5673/Images/Documentation/1922(1))
2. Select the **Message icon**. ![clipboard_e7cd533f9ce2d21becdaae267f788f7e3.png](https://cdn.us.document360.io/e3a59e39-abd3-4423-964c-0a4008dc5673/Images/Documentation/1924(1))
3. **Searchorscroll** the list of users and **select** the user you wish to unhide the conversation for. ![clipboard_ec540fdd4aae37b6ef67e35d7ce650ff5.png](https://cdn.us.document360.io/e3a59e39-abd3-4423-964c-0a4008dc5673/Images/Documentation/1925(1))
4. This will re-open your conversation with the user and they will reappear in the chat section of 8x8 Work for Desktop.

## Additional Information

Hiding or unhiding a chat or room only affects your personal message view. Other people in the room or chat will still see the conversation. For more information, see the [8x8 Work for Desktop product documentation](/documentation/docs/access-message-history).
