---
title: "Warm Transfer a Call in 8x8 Work Desktop"
slug: "warm-transfer-a-call-in-8x8-work-desktop"
updated: 2026-05-17T17:40:03Z
published: 2026-05-21T21:27:46Z
canonical: "help.8x8.com/warm-transfer-a-call-in-8x8-work-desktop"
stale: true
---

> ## Documentation Index
> Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://help.8x8.com/llms.txt
> Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further.

# Warm Transfer a Call in 8x8 Work Desktop

## Objective

Warm transfer a call in 8x8 Work for Desktop, where you speak to the person you are transferring to before sending the call to them.

## Applies To

- 8x8 Work for Desktop

## Procedure

1. While on a call, click **Transfer** to bring up your contact directory. ![](https://cdn.us.document360.io/e3a59e39-abd3-4423-964c-0a4008dc5673/Images/Documentation/11305)
2. **For contacts with one phone number**: Hover over the desired contact to transfer to, click **Warm Transfer** to put the original call on hold, and speak with the desired contact. ![](https://cdn.us.document360.io/e3a59e39-abd3-4423-964c-0a4008dc5673/Images/Documentation/11306)
3. **For contacts with multiple phone numbers**: Click the desired contact to view their list of phone numbers. Hover over the desired number, and click **Warm Transfer** to put the original call on hold and speak with the desired contact.

> [!NOTE]
> Note:
> 
> If you try to transfer while managing two calls, the Warm Transfer icon does not show up as a transfer option; you can only use direct transfer or transfer to voicemail. The option to use **warm transfer** is available if you have another line available.
4. Once the contact is notified, click **Direct Transfer** above the main call screen to transfer. The call and the contact are disconnected from you, and the call is transferred.

## Additional Information

If for some reason you do not see the **Warm Transfer** option, you can also use the **Merge Calls** feature to perform a warm transfer.

1. On an active call, click **More** and then **Add Call**. ![clipboard_e3c44f3f8580a209ab8838559a3218c99.png](https://cdn.us.document360.io/e3a59e39-abd3-4423-964c-0a4008dc5673/Images/Documentation/10716)
2. Enter the number you wish to call, or choose a contact from your directory. and then click the + icon. ![clipboard_e3fa8acdc420f3b5535c6e4fc041a13f2.png](https://cdn.us.document360.io/e3a59e39-abd3-4423-964c-0a4008dc5673/Images/Documentation/10713)
3. When connected to your chosen party, click the **More** and then **Merge Calls**. ![clipboard_e09c8f6344b9936764a36b583450c4b83.png](https://cdn.us.document360.io/e3a59e39-abd3-4423-964c-0a4008dc5673/Images/Documentation/10715)
4. To leave the call, click the **End Call** button and select **Let others continue**. ![clipboard_e7fabc58f73804308c471dad795a5837a.png](https://cdn.us.document360.io/e3a59e39-abd3-4423-964c-0a4008dc5673/Images/Documentation/10714)
